Top 10 Movies of 2011

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Movies of 2011

  1. So glad you decided to include The Muppets! I loved that movie! And I’m excited for your reviews in 2012, they’re always hilarious! Happy New Year.

  2. I’m afraid I can’t agree with you on Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes. I’m not a fan of James Franco’s “I’m-never-not-baked” acting style, Tom Felton seemed like he was still channeling Draco Malfoy even though the part called for a lot more subtlety (and you’re right, his American accent needs work), and given that it’s a prequel, the ending was a foregone conclusion; it’s hard to summon any great feeling of suspense when you already know how the movie’s going to end. (A rule that George Lucas could stand a refresher on as well, but that’s another story.) That being said, I agree with the rest of your picks, at least the ones I’ve seen, but I was kind of disappointed that you didn’t mention how Super 8 is meant to be an homage to kids’ adventure movies of the 80’s like E.T., The Explorers, The Goonies, etc. I thought for sure a fellow 80’s kid would pick up on that, especially since the movie captures that tone so beautifully.

Leave a Reply

